History and geography of Pakistan

Apart from India, it also has borders with Iran, Afghanistan and China. To the south-west of the country is the Arabian Sea. Pakistan is the second most populous country in the Muslim bloc and is sometimes called the Islamic Kingdom.


Pakistan appeared on the world map on August 14, 1947, after the struggle of Muslims in South Asia to escape the rule of the British Empire. Pakistan has a flourishing Indian civilization 5 thousand years ago. Before independence, Pakistan was part of the British Indian subcontinent.

After World War II, Britain returned independence to the subcontinent and divided the subcontinent into two countries, India and Pakistan, based on religion: Islam in West Pakistan and East Pakistan – further apart 1900 km – and Hinduism (Hindu) in India. In 1971, East Pakistan split up to form the People’s Republic of Bangladesh. Since then the territory of Pakistan is only in the west.
Pakistan is located in the South Asia region, the east is bordered by India, the north-west is bordered by Afghanistan, the southwest is bordered by Iran, the south is the Arabian Sea, the northeast is China

With an area of ​​796,095 km², Pakistan has 6 main areas: the northern highlands, the western lowlands, the Balochisan plateau, the Potohar region, the Punjab region and the Sindh plain. The northern high mountain region gathers 35 gigantic mountains with a height of over 7325 m, which is the second highest mountain in the world, Godwin Austin (K2). Besides there are many glaciers, large lakes and lush green steppes, this is also the attractive tourist destination of Pakistan.


Pakistan is located in the monsoon area, except for the southern flank of the Himalayas because the lower mountain range often has heavy rain. Pakistan has 4 seasons: cold season from December to March, temperatures from 4 ° C to –18 ° C, low humidity; hot season from April to June, dry climate; The rainy season is from July to September, and after the rainy season is from October to November.